Frome Museum set to re-open with the Frome Hoard

Frome Museum re-opens on 12th March after a winter break with a fresh new look and an exciting new display, ‘The Story of the Frome Hoard’.

The Frome Hoard, the largest deposit of Roman coins ever found in a single container in the UK, was discovered by amateur metal detectorist David Crisp on 11 April 2010. It contained a staggering 52,503 coins.

The Frome Museum display features an exact replica of the original urn made by heritage potter Graham Taylor, along with replicas of a selection of the coins aged to reproduce how the hoard looked when it was first excavated.  The accompanying display panel, accessible to visitors of all ages, tells the fascinating story of the hoard.

Michael Maggs, the Chair of Trustees, said: “We are very proud of the hard work our volunteers have done over the last few months to bring a smart new look to the upper gallery ready for our 2024 reopening. We have new displays and interpretation boards this year, and we are especially excited about our major new permanent exhibit, ‘The Story of the Frome Hoard’.”

The museum showcases the long and varied history of Frome. The Frome timeline illustrates the development of the town over the past 1500 years alongside displays about the town’s industrial heritage, including the world-renowned Singer’s Foundry, whose work can still be seen across the world, and the wool and printing trades that brought prosperity to the town from the 15th century onwards.

Visitors can also see traditional shop reconstructions from days gone by, including Maggs the Chemist and the Garston Veterinary Practice.

The Museum’s library contains thousands of documents and maps relating to Frome and the surrounding area. It is open to researchers by appointment.

The Museum is open between 10.00am and 2.00pm Tuesdays to Saturdays and on Frome Independent Market Sundays. Admission is free.

To find out more, visit